192nd Intelligence Squadron Airmen win ISR award program in all five categories

  • Published
  • By Tech. Sgt. Meghan Skrepenski
  • Virginia Air National Guard Public Affairs
Airmen from the 192nd IS recently competed in the Air Force Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance Awards Program for the 480th ISR Wing.

The 192nd IS nominated five airmen to compete in the AFISRAP awards program where they swept the competition, winning each of the five categories: Lt. Col. Rodney Brickell, Virginia Joint Force Headquarters, was awarded Outstanding Air Reserve Component ISR Field Grade Officer of the Year; Master Sgt. Jennifer A. Thibault, 192nd IS, was awarded Outstanding Air Reserve Component ISR Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year; Tech. Sgt. John Ortega, 192nd IS, was awarded Outstanding Air Reserve Component ISR NCO of the Year; Senior Airmen Zachary D. Bombay, 192nd IS, was awarded Outstanding Air Reserve Component ISR Airman of the Year; and Staff Sgt. Keona Newsom, 192nd IS, was awarded Outstanding Air Reserve Component ISR Enlisted Contributor of the Year.

The competition continued on to Air Combat Command level where Lt. Col. Brickell was awarded the overall 2014 Outstanding Air Reserve Component Intelligence Surveillance and Reconnaissance Field Grade Officer of the Year. 

"I couldn't be more proud of our deserving Airmen recipients of these awards. It is a testament not just to their dedication and professionalism, but also to the incredible team they serve with. The Airmen of the 192nd IS in concert with our partners in the 497th ISRG form a phenomenal team that sets the example and provides an invaluable service to our country," said Col. Thomas P. McAtee, 192nd Operations Group commander.

Each year only the highest caliber of professionals are nominated for the AFISRAP program. The 192nd IS was one of six ANG Distributed Common Ground System squadrons eligible to compete at the first level of consideration with the 480th ISR Wing. 

"Congratulations to our 2014 award winners on their performance and dedication to our mission. Special thanks to our team of experts who very effectively capture our airmen's contributions and tell their story in such a compelling and comprehensive way that they were chosen as the best in the Wing," said Lt. Col. David R. Lands, 192nd IS Commander.

The AFISRAP is an annual opportunity to identify the "best of the best" and appropriately recognize outstanding performance in Total Force Integrated ISR missions through leadership and performance by Active Duty Air Force, Air Reserve Components, and civilian intelligence personnel and units within Air Combat Command and the Air Force.